Dubai Marathon: Ethiopians won!

Jan 24, 2014 

Tsegaye Mekonnen Asefa wins race with a time of 2:04:32

Dubai: Ethiopia’s Tsegaye Mekonnen Asefa won the Standard Chartered Dubai Marathon 2014 with a time of 2:04:32. Mekonnen was followed across the line by compatriots Markos Geneti with 2:05:13 and Girmay Birhanu Gebru with 2:05:49.

Fourth and fifth place were also clinched by Ethiopians with Tamirat Tola Adera finishing in 2:06:17 and followed by Azmeraw Bekele Molaign in 2:07:12.

In the women’s race too it was a clean sweep by Ethiopians with Mula Seboka winning in 2:25:01 followed by Meselech Melkamu Haileyesus in 2:25:23 and Firehiwot Dado in third place with a timing of 2:25:53.

Ethiopian women clinched the first nine positions.

The Dubai 10k men’s race was won by John Ndugu of Kenya in 0:28:56, ahead of Dubai-based Ethiopian Feysa Dejene Amosha with a time of 0:28:58 and Ihya Ben Youssef of Morocco in third with 0:28:32.

The 10k women’s race was won by Gladys Jemaiyo of Kenya with 0:33:40. She beat out Sheila Jeptoo Rono of Kenya in second with 0:35:01, and Abu Dhabi-based Selam Wale Mihret of Ethiopia in third with 0:35:55.


Print Friendly