Kenya’s South Sudan politicians to attend IGAD peace talks in Ethiopia


The talks will be mediated by IGAD, comprising of seven nations: Kenya, Uganda, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Somalia, Republic of the Sudan and South Sudan.

World Bulletin / News Desk

Some of the seven senior South Sudan politicians, who were granted asylum in Kenya a week ago, will attend fresh peace talks in the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa, next Monday, according to a Senior African diplomat based in Nairobi.

The diplomat, who declined to be named because they are not authorized to speak on behalf of the regional block, the Intergovernmental Authority on Development, IGAD.

“Their names remain unknown, but I assure you some of the politicians will be in Addis Ababa to attend the talks,” the source told Anadolu Agency (AA).

The talks will be mediated by IGAD, comprising of seven nations: Kenya, Uganda, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Somalia, Republic of the Sudan and South Sudan.

The politicians granted asylum in Kenya are: Deng Alor Kuol, Gier Chuang, Cirino Hileng, Kosti Manibe, John Luk Jok , Madut Biar Yel and Chuol Ting Mayay.

The exact residential area of the politicians remains unknown.

AA were unable to contact Kenyan authorities to meet wıth the politicians. 

AU Foundation holds 1st promoters’ meeting in Addis Ababa

The recently-established African Union Foundation (AUF) on Thursday convened the first meeting of its promoters in Addis Ababa in the presence of African Union Commission chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma.

“It’s time for Africa to mobilize our own resources in support of our development and take charge of our own destiny,” Zuma, the founder of the foundation, said at the Inaugural Promoters meeting in the Ethiopian capital.

The AUF, established by the African Union (AU) Assembly in May 2013, aims to finance African priorities through voluntary contributions, according to a press statement issued by the pan-African body.

The mission of the AUF is to “mobilize resources in support of the African Union’s vision of an integrated, people-centered and prosperous Africa, at peace with itself and taking its rightful place in the world,” the statement added.

The foundation will focus on five key program areas: skills and human resource development; women’s empowerment and gender equality; regional integration; youth development and entrepreneurship; and advocacy and support for the AU.

The AUF governing council is still formalizing its membership, but those whose selection has been confirmed include Zuma, former prime minister of Mozambique Luisa Diogo, former Malian president Alpha Konare and former Jamaican prime minister James Patterson.

At the meeting, the Jamaican government pledged $100,000 to the foundation, which Jamaican ambassador Carlton Masters said “underscores the commitment of the diaspora towards African development.”

The formal launch of the AUF, along with a comprehensive awareness and fundraising campaign, is planned for later this year.

Legal Notice: Copyright, trade marks and other intellectual property rights in this website can not be reproduced without the prior permission.

Print Friendly